REVIEW: Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer

Happy Thursday! Today’s review will be on Laura Mercier’s Foundation Primer (Hydrating). I got this at Sephora, upon recommendation from the beauty advisor. I’ve never used foundation primer since my experience with Sephora’s house brand primer, which gave me breakouts. Besides, the silicon feel was weirdly and too oily for my liking. However, I really like Laura Mercier’s formula. Apologies in advance for the lousy pictures, my camera isn’t shooting macros like it used to. (ah, old age)

There’s a range available: hydrating, SPF, for oily skin, normal.

Packaging:
The primer has a twist cap and holds 50ml of product. It’s retailing locally at $55, but I got mine during a 20% off sale. Yay!

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer 2

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer 2

Colour:
The primer is milky white, translucent and more like a water based moisturizer. It’s absorbed fairly quickly and leaves a nice non-greasy finish. (Bad picture below!)

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer 3

Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer 3

Texture:
I use this everyday during my makeup routine, and apply this after my skincare, before my SPF and foundation. All it takes is 3 small pearls of primer to cover my face, and I like how it’s non-greasy after application.

Thoughts:
In my opinion this is rather value for money, 50ml for SGD$55. The other brands available were around the same price range, but products were of smaller volumes. For example, Benefit’s Porefessional is going at SGD$48 for 22ml. Call me cheapo but I want more bang for my buck! I’ve been using it for a while now, and have not experience any breakouts. My skin also feels more supple and my makeup is able to last longer without giving me massive shine by mid-day.

Do you use the other primers in the range? I was torn between the SPF and Hydrating ones. Share your thoughts below!

cheerio,
hei

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Laura Mercier Hydrating Foundation Primer

Leave a Reply

