PROJECT FINISH: [REVIEW] Korres, Soap&Glory, Hada Labo, Neutrogena, Shokubutsu

Project Empty-Out

Hello all! Today I’ll be sharing a post on the recent items which I’ve finished using (yay finally) and my after thoughts. I coined this as Project Finish (I know it sounds a bit weak, let me know if you have a better suggestion :))

There are 5 items here, all of which are skincare products. Although not all are full-sized products, I’m still proud to say I’m making some headway through my stash.

Small progress is better than no progress, right?

Project Empty-Out Items

From left to right: Neutrogena Deep Clean Brightening Mulberry Facial Scrub, Soap & Glory Scrubatomic Daily Face Polish, Hada Labo Arbutin Whitening Lotion, Korres Basil Lemon Shower Gel, Shokubutsu Anti-ageing Facial Foam (for dry skin)

Here’s what I think, based on each item:

Neutrogena Deep Clean Brightening Mulberry Facial Scrub:
Wow, really long name. I had this for ages but was saving it for travel use but.. oh well. This is a mulberry scented facial scrub that comes in a clear purple squeeze tube. The gel looks somewhat like a hand sanitiser, think Bath & Bodyworks’ Pocket Bacs with the little balls of stuff that you can pop. Yea, looks just like that.

I won’t necessarily call it a scrub, it doesn’t exfoliate. It’s more of a facial foam with bits that pop when you lather on, and smells really good. I love using this before I go to bed, the scent lingers on. Also, it didn’t dry out my face and I like the fact that my skin stayed clear and had minimal breakouts. I would actually re-purchase this, I’m just not too sure if I can find it at the local Watsons.

Soap & Glory Scrubatomic Daily Face Polish:
I got this at Sephora for about SGD$17, and it’s my least favourite. The face polish smells of peaches and apricot (which I like) but the formula didn’t suit me. When I use it in the shower, my face becomes oilier the instant I wash this off. It’s as though I applied lotion on my face, to wash my face. As for exfoliation, the bits are very fine so it is similar to rubbing very fine sand on your skin. I have to use this only to exfoliate, then use a secondary cleanser to wash the oily layer off. I probably won’t buy this again.

Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion:
I use this as a toner after cleansing. This has the consistency of a very watered out gel, and takes a while to dry. It contains Hyaluronic acid and arbutin, which hydrates and prevents moisture loss. Hada Labo is lauded to be as good as SK-II, which I also have. The effects I observed are very similar, my face became brighter and more supple. The difference? Price. SK-II’s facial treatment essence cost me a good SGD$200 odd but Hada Labo was just around SGD$2o~30. I’m a convert, if I go Japan again this will be on my to-buy list.

Korres Basil Lemon Shower Gel:
I got this as part of the Best of Korres set, and again was thinking to use it for travel. But since it was going to expire soon, I figured to open it. The shower gel is very gentle on skin and smells divine. Citrusy with a tinge of basil. I use this with a bath lily and it works up a foam, after washing off it does not leave a soapy feeling. Also, the scent lingers for a while before fading. With the travel sized bottle, I was able to use it for a week.

Shokubutsu Anti-ageing Facial Foam:
Saved the best for last! My sister passed this to me and wryly mentioned: “Hey, anti-ageing.” I was like, “I’m just 26.” But oh well, better now than never. Shokubutsu is well known for their products being effective, pleasant smelling and affordable. This anti ageing facial foam has mulberry and oat milk extracts and provides a luxurious lather. The smell of this reminds me of baby soap, subtle and gentle. A little pea sized dollop is enough to cleanse my face. My skin was not stripped of moisture nor did I experience the “squeaky” sensation, as with some cleansers which are more astringent. It also kept sebum at bay, my face was able to last longer before the oil shine set in. I really like this, so much that I’ve already bought the full sized product. For SGD$4.99 a pop, this is by far the most economical yet effective cleanser I’ve used.

I think it’s rather gratifying to see products that I actually finished using, and to know that I didn’t waste my dollars in buying them. It would of course be easier to toss them out if I didn’t like them. But hey, if they’re not messing my face up, I’m going to keep using them until they’re empty.

Share with me if you have products which you swear by, or feel accomplished in finishing them!

cheerio,

hei

Leave a Reply

