REVIEW: COLOURPOP Lippie Stix [Button, Lumiere, Bichette, Pasties, I <3 This]

Colourpop Lippie Stix

In my last post I talked about Colourpop, and how excited I was on waiting for my haul to arrive. Well guess what! Last night half of my loot came and I was ecstatic. Look at all the colours! ❤ What I have is just a wee fraction of the range and I am seriously wanting more.

If you are in Canada, Aussie, NZ and USA, you are in luck. Colourpop is from California and ships to these places. Poor me, I am in Singapore and I had to join a pre-order just to get my hands on these. I’m loving every single one of them.

I see some serious addiction coming on.

So, Colourpop is a e-tailer and provides a large (and growing) assortment of eye/lip/face products. I first came across them when channel surfing on Youtube, and saw KathleenLight’s reviews, as well as makeupbyshannonle. That was my eureka moment, I had to find a way to get these.

Price: USD$5 for a lippie stix/supershock eyeshadow/lippie pencil, and USD$8 for a blush/bronzer/highlighter

Colourpop Lippie Stix Packaging

Lets talk packaging. Each lippie stix comes in a box with an ingredient list inside. After unboxing, the product itself looks like a marker pen with a sticker label on the bottom, plus the type of finish the shade gives.

When you remove the cover you’ll see a coloured tip which corresponds to the shade. I think it’s cute that from an all white pen you suddenly have a pop of colour. (heh, pop of colour, colourpop :O )

Scent: A faint vanilla scent

Colourpop Lippie Stix

Right now there’s a whole bunch of finishes: satin, matte, creamy, sheer, hyperglossy, glossy

What I adore is the travel friendliness of this product. You can stash it anywhere, and the lipstick is retractable (no broken lipstick!) The simplicity is accentuated with the holographic branding, giving the lippie stix an edgy look.

Colourpop Lippie Stix

Shades: Lumiere (collab with KathleenLights), Button, I ❤ This, Pasties (from the Sundays in Silverlakes set), Bichette

I got my Pasties from a reseller locally for about $13 😦

Colourpop Lippie Stix Swatches

Oh, my heart sings. I can’t get over how pretty the colours are. I tell you, I had the toughest time deciding which shades to get. I WANT THEM ALL. So, for a start I grabbed the popular shades.

Pasties is a hyperglossy shade, you can see the wetness in the hand swatch as opposed to the rest

Colourpop Lippie Stix Dupes

Here are a couple of possible dupes for Button and Lumiere. Wet N Wild’s Just Peachy looks about close to Button, but leans pink while Button leans towards coral. NYX’s Thalia is not a spot on dupe for Lumiere, but I’d say a good 75%.

Some lip  swatches for those of you who want to see how the product performs. I didn’t exfoliate my lips, so pardon the slight flakiness.

Colourpop Lippie Stix - Lumiere

This pinky mauve shade is matte, and suits me very well. It is a my lips but better shade, since my lips are pretty dark to begin with. I would say this will suit many girls.

Colourpop Lippie Stix - Button

Button is a satin finish lippie stix and is a peachy coral shade. Again, a very wearable colour and compliments most skin tones.

Colourpop Lippie Stix - I <3 This

I ❤ This is a matte finish. This colour is red but with fuschia undertones. I like how bright this shade is and it will definitely bring a nice flush of colour on cold dreary days.  This stains a little, but I don’t mind.

Colourpop Lippie Stix - Bichette

Bichette, what’s bichette? I did a search and it means little deer. Initially I thought well.. Bi(t)chette? Haha, anyway this is a cool red with matte finish and is one of the most popular shades on colourpop. If you love red, you need this in your life.

Colourpop Lippie Stix - Pasties

Pasties is from the Sundays in Silverlakes collection, and is not available for sale on it’s own. This is a pinky-purple shade and gives a hyperglossy finish. Interestingly the formula is not streaky and application was a breeze. I for one am not usually a fan of lip glosses or glossy finishes but this was ok. I didn’t actually think I would like a pink-purple but I guess never try, never know!

My rating: 5/5 (affordable, great pigmentation, variety, ease of use)

Application is smooth with no tugging and I didn’t need a lipliner. The product does transfer when eating or drinking, reapplication necessary in about 3-4 hours. Overall, my verdict is I need more of these babies. MORE!

What is your favourite Colourpop product? Comment away below! 🙂

Cheerio,

hei

Leave a Reply

