REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip (Midi, Clueless, Bumble, Creeper, Avenue, LAX)

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip

Hello everyone! Today’s post is on a long overdue Colourpop haul. I grabbed a bunch of stuff a couple of months back and didn’t get around to reviewing them. The review today will be on the ultra matte lips, which I reckon should have quite a reputation by now. By the way, these are my first ever liquid lipsticks. The range has extended to include quite a number of shades, but I only got a few which I think I’ll use on a regular basis.

Price: USD$6 on colourpop.com

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip

Packaging: Transparent tube with screw on cap and doe foot applicator.

Scent: Unscented.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Swatches

 

These are swatches of the product (pardon the patchiness) and I’ll try my best to provide an accurate description of the formula/colour.

LAX: A blackened burgundy, gives you a vampy (sophisticated, not cheap) look. I find it to be great for days when I want to jazz things up but still look normal enough to leave the house.

AVENUE: I like to call this the lighter cousin of LAX. It’s a more of a muted warm red than burgundy.

CREEPER: A true red. Very red. So red, you feel like Taylor Swift.

BUMBLE: This is a terracotta shade. I thought it was a really unique shade, I can’t put my finger on it, but it gives me the warm and fuzzies.

CLUELESS: A blue based pastel pink, very easy to pair and ideal for everyday use.

MIDI: If you have darker lips, go for Midi. The other nude Shimmy is a little too light for asian skin. On my lips this is a perfect matte nude.

Let’s talk a bit about application. I did a lip scrub to remove any flaky skin (very important) before applying a lipstick primer. In this case I used colourpop’s primer. For the lighter colours I applied straight onto my lips, but for the darker colours I used a lip pencil before application.

At the point of application, I let my lips relax so that the colour goes on evenly. The pigment doesn’t dry immediately (to me that’s good) so at least I can spread out the colour before it sets. In total I need just 2 coats to have a nice, even, pigmented lip.

Longevity: Once set, my lips felt powdery. There was dryness but not to the point where I felt I had to remove the lipstick. When I ran my fingers over my lips there wasn’t any fallout. Next was the eating test. I had a sandwich and coffee, the matte lip stayed. Then came lunch. At this point there was a little bit of product bunching into tiny balls and falling off when I tapped my lips with a napkin. About 5 hours of wear, I noticed that the product was fading from the center of my lips. I reckon the oil from food did some chemistry with the lipstick and coupled with lip blotting after food, causing it to bunch/flake/fade.

For the best reapplication, I would recommend removing all the lipstick off your lips, then start over again. I tried smacking on the product over my faded lips, and it felt a little clumpy and cracked on the areas which remained before re-applying.

My rating: 4/5 (A little drying and flaked a bit on me)

The matte lipsticks were very much a leap of faith for me, I find the formula interesting but not something I would excessively use unless I wasn’t going to be eating or drinking a whole lot during the time of wear. They were not overly drying, they did not feel heavy (in fact I forgot I had lipstick on) but reapplication was a bit of a hassle. Would I repurchase? I don’t know, maybe just a couple of everyday colours. I don’t overly love them, but I don’t hate them either. They’re a good to have, in my honest opinion.

Do you have the ultra matte lips too? Which are your favourite shades?

Cheerio,

hei

Leave a Reply

