REVIEW: Colourpop Lippiestix – Reds

Colourpop Lippiestix - The Reds

Happy 2016 everyone! How did your festivities go? I had a nice week off from work, caught up with some packing, and soaked in some holiday vibes.

Today’s post is the second installation of my Colourpop lippiestix stash, and I’ve picked out some of the reds/berries that for swatching and quick reviews. I have a third one coming up, and those are on the deeper spectrum of red, almost leaning on brown-red.

Price: USD$5 per lipstick

Packaging: Pen-like twist up tube, with top that matches the lipstick shade

Colourpop Lippiestix - The Reds

Scent: Mild vanilla scent

Colourpop Lippiestix - The Reds

From top to bottom, darkest to lightest.

Colourpop Lippiestix - poison, bichette, fighter, peacocky, frenchie, I heart this

Forgive me on my limited colour vocabulary, I may end up repeating some words and hopefully it makes some sense to you. The running commentaries below will be from left to right (based on image above).

Poison: From the 2015 Fall collection, the shade in real life is more of a brick-red. Matte finish.

Bichette: One of my first ever lippiestixs, this is a deep red-wine colour. Matte finish but I won’t recommend wearing it for dinners. The lipstick will transfer to everything your lips touch.

Fighter: True red. At time of writing, this shade is retired. Also a matte finish.

Peacocky: Blue based red, in the sheer finish. This applies more like a tinted lipbalm and is pretty hydrating.

Frenchie: This is a bright warm red, almost neon. Matte finish.

I Heart This: Pink-red, or to be specific, a fuschia in matte finish. On the bullet its a very pretty shade but on me.. it makes me look yellow. This would suit tanned girls. I’m a little too pale.

My rating: 4/5 (variety but stains)

On an overall, these lipsticks are very pigmented (sans Peacocky) and apply smoothly. However they do have the classic red lipstick problem – transferring, feathering and staining lips.

As of now, the only red lipstick that swept me off my feet would be Wet N Wild’s megalast matte lipstick. Eat and drink all you want, this baby isn’t going anywhere.

Do you have other shades of red from Colourpop? Hit me up in the comments below 🙂

Cheerio,

heidi

Leave a Reply

