REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipsticks

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipsticks

And… we’re in March! Where has all the time gone? With Q1 closing to an end, here’s a quick peek at the latest Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipstick in a select few shades that I grabbed on the day of launch.

Hit the jump to find out more! 🙂

At first glance, there are a couple of shades which look pretty similar to the ultra mattes and lippiestix.

These are the shades I got:

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipsticks

Price: USD$6 per lipstick

Packaging: Transparent tube with a twist top, opens to reveal a doe foot applicator

Scent: unscented, but can make out a slight whiff of palm oil.

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipstick Swatches

Magic Wand: “A light nude for when you’re in the mood.”
This shade works for asian skin. I was half afraid that I would look washed out with the colour, but it applied as a MLBB nude. Similar colours (in my opinion) would be: Vice, Cookie, Ripa

Echo Park: “This warm peachy nude is perfect, whether you are cruising to Chinatown or Downtown”
This looks like the liquid version of Button, or close enough to Midi. The colour is warmer than Magic Wand, and has peachy undertones.

Frick N Frack: “You be Frick and we’ll be Frack and we’ll both look good in this rosy terracotta.”
Dusty terracotta/marsala. I personally find this shade to be similar to Bumble, just a little more on the red side.

Toolips: “Put those TooLips together and get to smoochin’ in this deepened plum brown.”
I find this shade very interesting but it doesn’t go with my yellow skintone. The colour is a greyed out brown that looks almost like a grey-purple. This will look fab on dark skinned girls.

Prim: “A dark blackened red, we volunteer this shade as tribute!”
This is a black/brown red, and I find it similar to Poison. Chic and sassy.

My rating: 5/5 (good colour payoff, cheap)

I’m glad that the ultra satin lipsticks got produced. Here’s what I think about them versus the ultra matte lipsticks: the satins don’t dry down completely and don’t make my lips feel parched. The pigment does not bunch up as with how the ultra mattes do, but it will transfer to any surface your lips touch because the colour remains semi-slick on the lips.

With each transfer I expected the product on my lips to fade quicker, but I’m happy to share that with a standard meal of eating and drinking, I didn’t suffer a whole lot of colour loss. But of course, utensils and straws are coated with the lipstick so if you’re a stickler for such this is not the product for you.

Variety wise I think Colourpop has been smart to come up with a “starter kit” of nudes, pinks, reds, browns; and I can see the range expanding in the near future. The only oddball colours to me would probably be marshmallow and petit four but hey, that’s how they roll. The Ultra Satin Lipsticks also come with matching lippie pencils.

I haven’t been able to lay hands on Dopey and Lost, can anyone share your views? Thanks!

Cheerio,

hei

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipsticks

    • Hi babe! Personally I prefer them over the ultra mattes because they don’t seem as drying, but they do transfer everywhere. If you compare the liquid lipsticks to the lippiestix, I would say my all time faves are the matte finish lippiestix. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

