REVIEW: Etude House Play 101 Stick Blush vs Missha Soft Blending Blusher

Etude House Play 101 #10 and #11

Happy May! Time flies, we are almost at the mid-point of 2016. Today I have a review of Etude House’s Play 101 Stick blush, in shades #10 and #11.

There are a number of shades for this product, but I bought the highlighter and contour shade primarily to see how they size up against my Missha Soft Blending Blush in Sugar Glam and Mud Brown.

Price: about SGD$12.90 (varies from seller to seller on Qoo10)

Etude House Play 101 #10 and #11

Packaging: Item comes boxed, product is a twist up tube of cream colour. There are no shade names, all colours are given a number code. Also, there is no brush at the opposite end of the tube, unlike Missha’s. Not really a big deal for me since I don’t use them.

Scent: Unscented

Closeups of the two shades:

Etude House Play 101 #10 and #11

#10 is a shimmery ivory highlighter, while #11 is a milk chocolate brown.

Here you have the first impression comparison of the Etude House stick versus Missha’s:

Etude House Play 101 #10 vs Missha Sugar Glam

Etude House’s stick looks lighter in colour, while the Missha stick has a stronger beige hue (almost rose gold).

Etude House Play 101 #11 vs Missha Mud Brown

The brown shades however, look similar from the tube.

And now, on to comparison swatches:

Etude House Play 101 #10 vs Missha Sugar Glam

As with the bullets, Missha’s stick applies with a slight tinge of pearlescent rose gold while the Etude stick has a frostier finish. Both are gorgeous and adequately pigmented. The cream sticks applied smoothly without tugging, think buttery consistency. I would say Etude’s #10 is a close dupe for Benefit’s Watt’s Up. (but fraction of the price!)

Etude House Play 101 #11 vs Missha Mud Brown

As for the browns, interestingly the Etude shade is lighter than Missha’s, but both are close enough to be interchangeable. The have the same buttery consistency as well.

My rating: 5/5 (good colour payoff)

I will boldly say that if you have one, you don’t need the other – in terms of the highlight and contour shades. I’ve not gotten the coloured blushes so I can’t say for sure how those compare with Missha’s.

What I would do (knowing me), is to go for the pricing. Whichever that’s cheaper, I’ll happy to hand over my cash. Guess I’ll be saying bye to my Watts Up after I’m done with it. Size wise the Missha sticks are a tiny bit taller than Etude. I wasn’t able to compare product volume because I’m halfway through my Missha sticks. I reckon they probably have a same amount of product each.

Are you in a dilemma on which brand to buy? If you are, I hope I managed to help! Do share with me if you have tested out the other shades in the Etude House Play Stick 101 line. I know they have stick foundations but I’m not adventurous enough to move from BB cream/liquid foundation to cream foundations. 🙂

Cheerio,

heidi

One thought on “REVIEW: Etude House Play 101 Stick Blush vs Missha Soft Blending Blusher

Leave a Reply

