REVIEW: 3 Concept Eyes Lip Laquer (Backstage)

3CE Lip Laquer Backstage

Hi people! Today I have another one of my lipstick shenanigans, this time the 3 Concept Eyes (3CE) Lip Laquer in Backstage. I’m pretty sure with ever continuing hype of Korean cosmetics 3CE should probably a familiar brand to everyone, and this is just one out of their myriad of lip products.

I actually wanted to get Dalia, but it was out of stock online so I settled for Backstage.

Hit the jump to find out how I liked (or not), this product 🙂

Price: SGD$29 (from Sephora SG)

3CE Lip Laquer Backstage

Packaging: Transparent tube with screw on cover and houses a doe foot applicator. Item comes boxed.

Scent: Unscented

The colour and product details are printed on a sticker, and can be found at the base of the tube.

3CE Lip Laquer Backstage

A little PSA here: all genuine 3CE products should come with a safety seal (pictured above), and should be made in Korea. I have come across bootleg versions of 3CE and most of them come from China. There should also be a manufacture date printed somewhere along the body of the product. If in doubt when purchasing online, I suggest you either order direct from Stylenada or Sephora.

3CE Lip Laquer Backstage

A close up of the doe foot applicator, with some product on it. On first impression the lip laquer appears high-gloss and creamy.

And here’s a swatch of Backstage, 1 layer:

3CE Lip Laquer Backstage Swatch

The colour payoff is excellent, the red is intense and pigmented. What I realised after a while is that the lip laquer doesn’t completely dry down. There is still some wetness and the swatch felt slick. Maybe I applied too much? I don’t really know.

But what I do know is that the product transfers because of it being not totally drying. Can’t blame 3CE, they didn’t say this is a matte formula.

My rating: 4/5 (pigmented but transfers)

The colouration and consistency is first class, but I’m not too sure how I feel about the transferring aspect of this product. I have used this at work and noticed that it pretty much gets onto any surface my lips come into contact with. It can get a little messy, sometimes I find myself consciously checking out the mirror to see if anything migrated onto my teeth. Also as with most red lipsticks/laquers, Backstage stained my lips.

I’d say it’s ok for day-to-day use, but if you have some important date or client meeting.. pick something else.

How else would you wear it to reduce the transfers? Share your secret with me! 🙂

 

Cheerio,

heidi

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: 3 Concept Eyes Lip Laquer (Backstage)

Leave a Reply

