REVIEW: Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish (Combination/Oily Skin)

Holika Holika Real Skin Finish

Today’s photos are a little on the dark side (haha, so punny), since it’s pouring out now as I am writing this post.

Before I continue on the review, I wanted to share that my hamster had 6 little ones on Mother’s Day. How apt right ❤ It came as a surprise because I thought she was a “he” until she popped. (Sorry about that Junior)

So, today’s review is on the Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish face primer. There are 2 formulas and I purchased the one for combination/oily complexions.

I actually got a sample from one of the sellers on Qoo10 for a previous korean beauty purchase and I liked it enough to get the full retail size. But I don’t know why my tub’s texture is a little weird as compared to the packettes. Read on to find out what happened.

Price: about SGD$12 (varies from store to store)

Holika Holika Real Skin Finish 2

Packaging: Tub with screw-on cover. The tub should come with a separator between the lid and the product. No spatula given.

Scent: Floral, a little like granny perfume and a tad bit strong for my liking.

Below is what the actual primer looks like. The consistency is like a putty and is quite stodgy. The closest thing I can relate to is.. plaster. Ok that didn’t really help but you know when plaster is left to stand for a while, it becomes a semi jello/stilty mix?

Holika Holika Real Skin Finish

Here’s the product swatch and I wasn’t too impressed:

Holika Holika Real Skin Finish Swatch

See, I had the sample packette prior and I liked how it mattified my makeup. Somehow for the tub there might have been some manufacturing issue and there were numerous itty bitty gritty bits in the primer. When I tried blending the product out, there are little grains of stuff left behind and the process felt like applying a facial scrub.

Grittiness aside, let me talk about the performance of this face primer:

  1. It is white, meaning you should not pile this on unless you want to look ghostly. This product leaves a white cast, so use sparingly. (refer to blend out swatch above)
  2. It mattifies. I can be oil-free for about 3-4 hours before needing to touch up again. I know 3-4 hours don’t sound much but over here in Singapore the weather is in a constant of about 30 odd degrees Celsius/ 90 odd Fahrenheit so I consider the oil-free time a feat.
  3. The scent. Honestly I hate it. If you’re in the states it may smell like Charmin toilet paper, but I could overlook that for the performance of the primer. Alas, I bought a dud.

My rating: 3.5/5 (the sample was good, the tub sucked for consistency issues)

On an overall I would recommend this item (sans grit). I’m quite surprised to have encountered this since I had pretty good success with the Aqua Petit Jelly BB Cream. Now I’m not too sure what to do with the primer, it’s sitting around in my stash. I suppose I can make it work by spending more time on blending it out, or maybe I should try something crazy like running the product through a fine sieve to separate the grit.

Have you tried the other primers from Holika Holika? Share with me if you encountered any issues with the production batch. Or in fact, do you have any mattifying primers you highly acclaim? I recently bought the MUFE Step 1 Mattifying primer and based on the test swatch I did in Sephora, I have a feeling I will be loving that.

Cheerio,

heidi

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish (Combination/Oily Skin)

Leave a Reply

