REVIEW: Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask (Yuzu)

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

I have something which has been my secret guilty pleasure for a while now, and that’s the Kao Megurism/MegRhythm Steam Eye Masks. They are a great perk-me-up on hectic workdays, or even at times when I feeling crummy with what’s going around in life.

This particular box I purchased in Japan, but they can be found locally in any Watsons, Guardian or Unity Healthcare drugstores. The ones in SG come in Lavender, Chamomile and Rose – but I can’t confirm for sure if Yuzu is a “japan exclusive” scent.

Another notable difference is the size, this box has 14 pieces, while I think the local one is at SGD$6.50 for 5 pieces.

Price: about 1312+ JPY, converts to SGD$16.90 (varies from store to store)

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

Packaging: Every box will have 14 sealed packets

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

Scent: Citrusy Yuzu – if you don’t know what Yuzu is, it smells like a pomelo and tastes a little like grapefruit.

Referencing from the packaging, what I can tell is this product is primarily intention-ed for some R&R when you are travelling, at work or just chilling at home. What I love to do is to use one of these before I go to bed, I love the warmth plus the soothing peace helps me rest pretty well.

The mask reacts with air to produce heat (similar to how disposable heatpads work), and plateaus at 40 degrees celsius. The warmth lasts for about 10-15 minutes and during this period of time the steaming effect comes in. I like to slap on all my Laneige skincare before using the eyemask for a short eye-spa. The “steam effect” is not bogus, there is a thin layer of condensation that collects on my eye area every time I use this – and I can attest it’s not perspiration.

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

Don’t guffaw – I know this totally resembles a primordial looking kotex. I suppose this is how the whole disposable thing works, at least this is biodegradable. But really, I won’t be caught dead using this other than from the comfort of my home.

The eye mask comes with 2 ear loops that keeps the mask in place during usage.

This is how the side that comes in contact with your eyes look like:

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

The material is soft and not scratchy, so I have no issues with any chafing behind my ears during application. In fact I sometimes fall asleep when using it, though I’m pretty sure it’s not recommended.

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

After using one of these I got curious as to how the inside looks like, so I snipped open a side of the eye mask. There is a sealed pad-like compartment which feels somewhat crusty after use. Maybe its what that remains after the exothermic reaction during the steaming process.

After cutting open the sealed compartment, this is what the contents look like:

Kao Megurism Steam Eye Mask Yuzu

The colour doesn’t look too awesome but eh, its just for curiosity’s sake. Nothing from this pack will come into direct contact with your eyes except for the steam.

My rating: 5/5 (this is fabulous)

I love this eye mask and will definitely be repurchasing (I’m down to my last 4 pieces). I don’t suppose there is a limit to how many you can use, but I use this once to two times a week. I think Qoo10 sells this and at about $1.30 a piece this is a little bit of luxury that I can afford 🙂

Leave it to the Japs to come up with wacky products, but this time I am enjoying this creation.

Have you used this product before? What’s your take on it?

Cheerio,

heidi

Leave a Reply

