REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips + Lip Swatches (on Asian skin!) Part 2

colourpop-ultra-glossy-lips-part-2

Hello and we are at the end of September! Today I finally had some down time after a hectic week of work, and I thought to do swatches from part 2 of my Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips haul.

To be specific, it’s a bunch of ultra glossy lips and one shade from the metallic range. I’ll try to make this post a short one, so more photos, less typing. Lets go!

Price: USD$6 each

coloourpop-ultra-glossy-lips-part-2-

Packaging: Clear twist tube with a chrome cover, doe foot applicator housed within

In this post, we have the following shades: My Jam, Flitter (metallic), Tokyo Tea, Saddle Up, Catalina and Dropout. In the earlier post I realised how much I liked these glosses, so went ahead to pick up more of them in the sheer finish. Flitter was more of a last minute addition to the cart since there wasn’t anything else I wanted.

Scent: Slight vanilla scent

Here are the hand swatches. For some reason my camera wouldn’t focus properly so I ended up with this semi-blur shot.

coloourpop-ultra-glossy-lips-part-2-2

From left to right: My Jam (Glitter), Flitter (metallic lip), Tokyo Tea (Creme), Saddle Up (Sheer), Catalina (Sheer), Dropout (Sheer)

At first glance, I felt that Catalina would make me look washed out though I have to say I like the purple hue when it’s in the tube. The metallic lip colour in Flitter.. I don’t know if its the formula or something, but the product was really dry. It applied more like a cream eyeshadow than what I would expect from a lipstick.

Moving on to lip swatches 🙂

Here are my bare lips:

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lip - Bare Lips

All photos are taken in natural light.

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips - My Jam

My Jam: “Oh hot damn, this is our jam, don’t forget to party until the AM in this warm golden nude shimmering with silver and gold in a Metallic finish”

What I think: I felt that this shade suited me better than Tight Fit. This is a pretty shimmer and when it catches the light you can see the sliver and gold sparkling. The consistency was slick, not grainy.

Colourpop Ultra Metallic Lips - Flitter

Flitter: “Flitter into their DMs in this warm pinky undertone with flash of gold on top in a Metallic finish”

What I think: Personally I like the shade but I can’t say the same for the formula. The product didn’t apply smoothly and it pretty much settled into all the lines in my lips. I would reconsider using this as a cream highlighter instead, since it’s so dry.

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lip - Tokyo Tea

Tokyo Tea: “You’ll be on your a** but you’ll look fabulous in this bright coral red in a Crème finish”

What I think: I covered this in the Part 1 swatches, I thought I probably wouldn’t get the full size but look at what I did. I guess this goes to show how much I adore the Ultra Glossy Lips.

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips - Saddle Up

Saddle Up: “Save a horse, ride a bright tangerine in a Sheer finish”

What I think: The orange didn’t show up as much as I would have liked, but this is one of my favourite shades from the lot. I reckon this is perfect for daily use. Nothing overly fancy but still a nice wash of colour.

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips - Catalina

Catalina: “Sail away in this soft lavender in a Sheer finish”

What I think: By now I should know better to steer clear from pastel pinky purple hues, like Pirahna. Catalina is a dusty lavender shade that I look absolutely dead in. It’s a nice colour, just not suitable for me.

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips - Dropout

Dropout: “No graduation day for you? You’ll still rock this chocolate raspberry in a Sheer finish”

What I think: Basically, chocolate sauce or mahogany wood stain. I know that sounds weird. I would call this a muddy wine, a little vampish and an interesting shade to have.

My rating: 4/5 (good colour range, sheers can be hits/misses)

I feel like I only need the ultra glossies, heck now I don’t even care for the ultra mattes and satins. The glosses are so wearable and the colour payoff is decent. I find that they help with dry lips and that they don’t smell or taste odd. I really recommend them!

Do you have the Ultra Glossy Lips? What’s your favourite?

Cheerio,

hei

Leave a Reply

