REVIEW: Althea Petal Velvet Powder

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored review by Althea. All comments on the experience and first impressions of the product(s) are expressly mine, and not in any way influenced or paid for.

Hi Everyone! I recently had the pleasure of receiving Althea’s newest Petal Velvet Powder in the mail. Needless to say, Althea has been my favourite place to shop in 2017 and possibly more years to come.

It’s exciting to see how Althea has expanded and foraying into producing their own unique line of cosmetics. Debuting from the brand, the Althea Petal Velvet Powder is a micro fine loose powder that minimises the appearance of pores and fine lines, and at the same time controls sebum.

Read on to know more Β + enjoy a $7 discount on your order for new sign ups! πŸ™‚

Price:Β SGD $6 and can be purchased here

Packaging:Β The item comes boxed in Althea’s signature pink packaging, the powder comes in a transparent screw top container.

The size of the loose powder makes it suitable for dipping a standard sized powder brush into the container, without being too cumbersome to carry it around. The face puff is housed within the container and prevents the finely milled powder from spilling.

A close up of the puff: it’s thick and fluffy, and feels luxuriously soft to the touch.

According to Althea’s site, these are the advertised benefits of the Petal Velvet Powder:

althea korea petal velvet powder

Excerpt:

Althea’s very own product range is here, and we’re starting off strong with the Petal Velvet Powder! This debuting beauty is a translucent powder that sets makeup and leaves behind a silky finish to the touch. Infused with oil from Althea seeds, this powder works to keep sebum production at bay without drying out the skin for a radiant, fresh look, all while giving out a gentle scent. Keep your makeup looking great all day or dust some on to stay shine-free!

Let’s see the product up close:

The powder is indeed very finely milled, and picks up easily on a brush or puff. There are very minimal clumps, and the product feels silky to the touch.

Althea’s container is generously filled, unlike some other brands I’ve used where the containers are large (but half filled) to give the false perception that you have a sizable volume.

Here’s a swatch of the powder on bare skin. The product applies well without caking, and does not leave a white powdery cast. It is also lightweight and leaves skin feeling smooth.

My rating: 5/5 (cheap and good)

I’ve been using this for a week now, and observed that the loose powder sets my makeup well. My face appears to have a soft flow, and pores are minimised. Coupled with the MUFE skin equalizer I reviewed recently, I find that my face does not become oily as quickly as usual and my makeup holds well. Reapplication is simple, I use my Kose Esprique blending brush to swirl and tap off excess powder, then lightly sweep across my face. Between the given puff and a brush, I personally find that a brush allows me to control the distribution of the loose powder.

If you are looking for an affordable and good loose powder, I recommend this.

I love sharing good deals, use my referral below to enjoy a discount off your order!
Click on the image below to access the referral link. New signups enjoy $7 off your first Althea order, with a minimum of SGD$50 purchase πŸ™‚

If you liked this review, follow me on Instagram @eatmycrayons or show me some love on Facebook at contact.eatmycrayons for updates and quick reviews/swatches!❀

Cheerio,

hei

Leave a Reply

